Detroit Employment Solutions Corporation


The Detroit Employment Solutions Corporation Board of Directors is responsible for oversight of DESC’s day to day operations.   Detroit Employment Solutions Corporation is the fiscal and administrative agent designated by the Mayor and the Mayor’s Workforce Development Board (MWDB), a board appointed by the Mayor.  The MWBD is responsible for policy planning, oversight and evaluation of programs and services provided by DESC for the city of Detroit.

Members of both these boards are as follows:

DESC Board

  • Alice Thompson Board Chair, Black Family Development (Retired)
  • Dannis Mitchell Board Vice Chair, Barton Malow
  • Chris Uhl Board Treasurer, IFF
  • Lena Barkley Board Secretary, CVS Health
  • Ric Preuss IBEW Local 58
  • Maria Woodruff-Wright Skillman Foundation
  • Rian Barnhill Olympia Development of Michigan
  • Terri Weems Group Executive, Workforce & Detroit at Work

MWDB Members

  • Alice Thompson
    President and Chief Executive Officer
    Black Family Development
  • Andra Rush
    Chief Executive Officer
    Dakkota Integrated Systems
  • Angelique Power
    President & CEO
    Skillman Foundation
  • Bill Robinson
    Bureau of Services for Blind Persons
  • Bill Kingsley
    Managing Director
    UHY Advisors
  • Bruce Dall
    Motor City Casino & Hotel
  • Byron Osbern
    Business Representative
    IBEW Local 58
  • Carla Walker-Miller
    Walker-Miller Energy Services, LLC
  • Dr. Colleen Allen
    President & CEO
    Autism Alliance of Michigan
  • Dave Meador
    Vice Chairman and Chief Administrative Officer, retired
    DTE Energy
  • David Dauch
    American Axle Manufacturing
  • Bishop Edgar Vann
    Second Ebenezer Church
  • Faye Nelson
    Director of MI Programs
    W.K. Kellogg Foundation
  • Frank Venegas
    Chief Executive Officer
    Ideal Group
  • Jeff Donofrio
    President & CEO
    Business Leaders for Michigan
  • Secretary Jocelyn Benson
    Secretary of State
    State of Michigan
  • Joshua Sirefman
    Michigan Central Station
  • Kofi Bonner
  • Mark Gaffney
    President Emeritus, MI AFL-CIO and WSU Board of Governors
    Teamsters Local Union 214
  • Mark Reuss
    General Motors
  • Conrad Mallett, Jr.
    Corporation Counsel
    City of Detroit
  • Dr. Curtis Ivery
    Wayne County Community College District
  • Dr. Darienne Driver-Hudson
    President & Chief Executive Officer
    United Way of Southeast Michigan
  • Dr. Kimberly Espy
    Wayne State University
  • Michelle Sourie-Robinson
    President & CEO
    Michigan Minority Supplier Development Council
  • Mike Aaron
    Business Manager
    Laborers’ Local 1191
  • Mike McLauchlan
    Vice President of Government Relations
    Illitch Holdings
  • Mike Haller
  • Nia Winston
    Unite Here Local 24
  • Dr. Nikolai Vitti
    Detroit Public Schools
  • Alessandro DiNello
    Chief Executive Officer
    Flagstar Bank
  • Scott Thiele
    Chief Procurement Officer
    Fiat Chrysler Automobiles
  • Tony Tomczak
    Vice President of Electric Sales & Marketing
    DTE Energy